Cherry Blossom Blues

I think the gods must have damned us:
star dew drunk down in shot glasses,
your eyes like pool balls in the sky –
if I read your palm I know you’ll leave
me for greener pastures, fire blossoms
on your lips and I whet it on my tongue,
we hold these moments like cherry petals
until they all spill out in pink halos,
eaten up by the breeze of voracious angels
whose white wings snap buds, reminding me
that I can own nothing, am never yours,
am simply graced by an ephemeral ghost –
I see through all your years, to a heart
that is blooming like a lily, but if I pluck
it and swallow your honey, eternity will
crumble in my grasp – I’ll hold only blues.

2 thoughts on “Cherry Blossom Blues

Leave a Reply

