The Socerer’s Apprentice

I’m a towhead girl the trolls thirst after
singing magic lullabies to bend toadstools
to my will, I can get lost in the haunted
forest and the wizard may adopt me, but I
left my mother’s house for a reason – I was
born under an ill-omened moon, you see, and
my Red Riding Hood cape attracts werewolves,
so though the wizard’s crows carry me to
safety whenever the fairies come to take
me as their thrall, and though I am now
the enchanter’s student, there is wildness
about me that cannot be tamed by all the
magick in the world, so I will spin my
spider-thread songs, sail through stars,
and court the Erl King in due time, alone.

Leave a Reply

