Sadako

The girl of ruin hides in the closet corner
black hole eyes and skin white as sour milk
she summons phantasmagories of murder, poison
slipping under my skin as I sleep in sweaty
terrors, screaming as her black hair strangles,
thick tangles of evil, her stench is decaying
roadkill, baking in sun and blood, her teeth
are sharp as a shark’s, and she whispers in a
nail on chalkboard tune, singing madly of her
motley machinations – guts spewing, tongues
lolling, heads rolling, my family succumbs to
Sadako’s supper, she gnaws on bones, sucks blood
a child not past puberty that lures me with ruin
in truth she is an old enemy, and I force myself
awake, but when sleep grips me again, she haunts
the dark spaces of my mind, and no one is safe
when Sadako wants company, and monster girls play.

Leave a Reply

