Insomnia

The drum beats bold, time marches on
the candle flames whir and I wonder
about days untouched, long ago gone
and how falling leaves tore asunder
two restless hearts, we parted ways
took blue bottle letters to farflung shores
I wandered far, moonlight led me astray
I thought of your arms, your touch no more
than an aching stillness in the evening dark
your kiss just an anchor rusting far beneath
the quiet of solitude, years fade, your mark
is a bruise on my brain, and I cannot sleep.

Leave a Reply

