Peabo Bryson, The Music of the Devil

It is four fucking AM and I slept for a grand total of thirty minutes and got into a fight with Samael in the astral in his dumb Gothic mansion over being too close to Saint Michael and supposedly being mean to Samael.  Samael was drunk, in bed, and crabby.  He was dressed in a black and red house robe and fucking fuzzy red slippers.  Samael had bedhead.  He was grumpy as fuck.

He cried.  I yelled at him.  We threw things including the lamp.  He flew off the balcony in a dramatic fashion, and as he left, the flatscreen TV flashed on with a song I had never heard before by an artist I did not know, someone named “Peabo Bryson” about being “In My Arms” or some such nonsense.  It sounded emo and like slow soft rock.   I wake up and write it down, then Google it.

Peabo Bryson is a real musician.  So is the song.  It is a slow love song about giving people second chances and cheesy as hell.

I am questioning Samael’s music taste and cannot for the life of me go back to sleep.  It’s moments like this when I doubt my sanity.

Samael likes Peabo fucking Bryson.  He is playing me emo love songs.

Here are the lyrics in case you’re wondering why I call Sam a loser and am afraid to go back to sleep:

It all came so easy
All the lovin’ you gave me
The feelings we shared
And I still can remember
How your touch was so tender
It told me you cared

We had a once in a lifetime
But I just couldn’t see
Until’ it was gone
A second once in a lifetime
May be too much to ask
But I swear from now on

If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll love you much better
If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll hold you forever
This time we’ll never end

Now I’m seen clearly
How I still need you near me
I still love you so
There’s something between us
That won’t ever leave us
There’s no letting go
(No letting go)

We had a once in a lifetime
But I just didn’t know it
‘Til my life fell apart
A second once in a lifetime
Isn’t too much to ask
‘Cause I swear from the heart

If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll love you much better
If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll hold you forever
This time we’ll never end, never end

The best of romances
Deserve second chances
I’ll get to you somehow
‘Cause I promise now

If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll love you much better
If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll hold you forever
This time we’ll never end

If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll love you much better
If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll hold you forever
This time we’ll never end

If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll love you much better
If ever you’re in my arms again
This time I’ll hold you forever
This time we’ll never end
If ever you’re in my arms again

 

Leave a Reply

