Mead of Joy

When I write from joy I’m the mead of song
When I write from joy I’m the sparrow’s flight
a humble songbird, pecking at red winter berries
I taste a sweetness in holly humans cannot see
what is bitter to you is a blessing on my tongue
heady like new love, or old love rekindled, just
a melody of harvest and bitter beauty months,
snow falls, ice and sleet, but I am so warm.
We drink the from horns of happiness together
I am your sparrow, I am your joy, I am your
overcurious wren of the winter hollow, a nest
on your breast, woven of your hair, your love
gives me strength to fly and drink nectar from
the heavens – my pen is my sword, yours alone.

Leave a Reply

