Petriglass

Upon the wicker boat I lie

Allow my blood to petrify

I caterwaul as graves pass by-

They’re cracked to dust by time.

 

I float down rivers thick with dreams

The waters black with dead mens’ schemes

Fish of legends swim between

My feet, and I am drowning.

 

The petriglass beneath my toes

Reveals murky depths and flows

Of sifting sands and sunken woes,

I walk the plank of mourning.

 

It is a tattered wooden thing

Sanded down by sighs and screams

In waters below, a treasure gleams-

Plop.

I plunge below.

 

Below, below, the petriglass

My ankles twine with nacreous grass

Mother-of-pearl, it holds me fast

Twenty thousand leagues, I’m sinking.

2 thoughts on “Petriglass

Leave a Reply

